The effects of language and societal stereotypes on each other

Why are dirt and sweat most often associated with masculinity? Are women delicate flowers that musn’t be associated with such work that makes one sweat and get dirty? No, especially not in this day and age. However, as I help construct a new patio at my house, I feel like a “workin man.” And it feels awesome, except for the fact that if I were to use the term “workin woman” instead, it somehow wouldn’t feel as “strong,” based on the connotation the words have acquired through the years in our society.

Language is such an interesting thing, not only in and of itself (I’m sure I’ll expand on that another time), but also in its role in society and how society uses it to convey different ideas and connotations, based on stereotypes and roles that have been at play for centuries. Even though I know that I, as a female, am capable of shoveling dirt and grass into a wheelbarrow in the hot sun, getting dirty and sweaty and building my muscles, it gives me the feeling of being a “workin man.” Because the general connotations of the words “man” and “woman” have been established and ingrained into our language for such a long time, that’s just what my mind jumps to first.

Doing this kind of work is very empowering, and it’s hard, but I know I’ll be stronger when it’s done–both in muscles and in philosophy. Know that my belief on the subject of gender equality is that we ALL are, and should be, equal–I am a working woman!–this is merely a long thought on language and how words and phrases that have been in our language forever might play a role in how we all perceive each other and our abilities. I love being all clean and nice-smelling and pretty, but it’s also fun to do this sort of work and get dirty and know that I’m strong. We’re all just people, after all! Basically, do what you want, say what you want, and refer to yourself how you want, with a heightened awareness of the subtleties of language in society. Isn’t it interesting?

Leave a comment